Qantas Airways (QF)

The Spirit of Australia

About Qantas Airways

Qantas Airways, is the flag carrier of Australia and its largest airline by fleet size, international flights and international destinations. It is one of the oldest airline in the world, it began international passenger flights in May 1935. The Qantas name comes from "QANTAS", an acronym for its original name, "Queensland and Northern Territory Aerial Services", and it is nicknamed "The Flying Kangaroo". Qantas is a founding member of the Oneworld airline alliance. The airline is based in the Sydney suburb of Mascot with its main hub at Sydney Airport. Various subsidiary airlines operate to regional centres and on some trunk routes within Australia under the QantasLink banner. Qantas also owns Jetstar Airways, a low-cost airline that operates both international services from Australia and domestic services within Australia and New Zealand. Qantas' headquarters are located at the Qantas Centre in the Bayside Council suburb of Mascot, Sydney, New South Wales. The headquarters completed in December 2013. Qantas flies to 20 domestic destinations and 21 international destinations in 14 countries across Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe and Oceania excluding the destinations served by its subsidiaries. The entire Qantas group serves 65 domestic and 31 international destinations.

IATA Code:


Company Headquarter Mascot , Australia

Number of Destinations 85

Year of Operation 1920

Fleet Size 131

Alliance Oneworld

Qantas Airways Fleet

Aircraft Type Total


Similar Airlines